Conference Venue
  Hotel Information
Restaurants Nearby
How to reach Granada
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Front Page Proceedings ICPIG2013   CONTRIBUTIONS SEARCH
General Information
Scientific Program


The following three awards will be announced during ICPIG 2013:

1. – von Engel & Franklin Prize 2013
2. – IUPAP Young Scientist Medal and Prize in Plasma Physics 2013
3. – ICPIG 2013 Student Poster Prizes

Von Engel & Franklin Prize:

The International Scientific Committee (ISC) have chosen Prof. W. G. (Bill) Graham as the 2013 recipient of the von Engel & Franklin prize. "The award is made in recognition of outstanding service to the scientific community that attends our meetings, noting in particular the encouragement and support that Bill has given to others as well as the quality and range of his own work".

The prize is named in honour of two distinguished colleagues who have had a major role in ICPIG and its community since the original meeting in 1953; Hans von Engel and Raoul Franklin have provided the funds from which the prizes drawn. It is awarded biennially to an individual for outstanding work in the field of the physics and technology of plasmas and ionized gases, as covered by ICPIG meetings.

The award ceremony will be held during ICPIG 2013 in Granada, after the award winner will present a lecture.

IUPAP Young Scientist Medal and Prize in Plasma Physics:

On the occasion of the XXXI International Conference on Phenomena in Ionized Gases (ICPIG) the 2013 IUPAP Young Scientist Medal and Prize in Plasma Physics will be bestowed by the IUPAP C.16 Commission on Plasma Physics in the area of low-temperature plasma physics. The Plasma Physics Award consists of Euro 1000 , a medal, and a certificate.

The Plasma Physics Award presentation will take place at the XXXI ICPIG Granada 2013, which is partially sponsored through the IUPAP C.16 Commission. The winner is invited to present his work at the XXXI ICPIG Granada 2013.

The winner of the 2013 prize is Dr. Peter Bruggeman for: "For studies that have provided fundamental insights into the nature of plasmas in and in contact with liquids, and of basic phenomena in non-equilibrium atmospheric-pressure discharges".

ICPIG 2013 Student Poster Prizes

The International Scientific Committee (ISC) of ICPIG will select the three best posters presented by PhD students. In addition to the quality of the scientific content and graphical presentation of the poster, its compliance with the related paper will be taken into account, irrespective of the topic, or whether these are predominantly experimental, computational or theoretical.

The student’s supervisor, whether attending the ICPIG or not, nominates her/his student for the prize. Eligible students should not be defending their PhD thesis before January 2013. The nomination letter (500-1000 words), briefly describing and evaluating the specific work should reach the ISC Chair before 1st May 2013.

  Diseño de la página web : Adcore Desarrollo y Comunicación SL 2011